Five join hall as class of 2014

Five propane pioneers were inducted April 11, 2014, into the LP Gas Hall of Fame during the third annual dinner and awards ceremony at The Ritz-Carlton in Atlanta. The five men enshrined as part of the 2014 class were


  • Casey Jarvis, JARCO;
  • William B. McHenry, Pro-Gas Sales & Service
  • Daniel N. Myers, NPGA
  • J. Charles Sawyer, Sawyer Gas
  • Dwain Willingham, Propane Resources.

Sawyer attended the ceremony with his daughter, Charlene Sawyer, and son-in-law, Dean Veenstra. LP Gas Hall of Famer Sam McTier, of Propane Technologies, accepted the honor for Myers, who could not attend the event. Former LP Gas Editor Pat Hyland also recalled his time spent with Myers, a former member of the magazine’s Editorial Advisory Board.

Jarvis, McHenry and Willingham, meanwhile, were inducted posthumously. Nancy Coop and Michael Jarvis accepted the hall of fame award on behalf of Casey Jarvis, their father. Phillip McHenry, Bill McHenry’s son, represented his father. And Brenna Breeden, Willingham’s daughter, spoke on Willingham’s behalf at the ceremony.

The hall of fame ceremony preceded the 2014 NPGA Southeastern Convention & International Propane Expo, and more than 100 retailers, manufacturers and allied trade representatives were in attendance.